Steve Harley

& Cockney Rebel

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Gaining new fans

Gaining new fans 12 years 3 months ago #5509

• psychomenagerie
Interesting incident occurred for me little while ago, a couple of weeks ago on a Friday night I picked a customer up(I'm a Taxi driver, just to avoid any confusion)luckily he was going on quite a lengthy journey, & I had a Steve Harley/Cockney Rebel playlist on my iPod in the car, after the usual, "been busy," & "what time do you finish" exchanges, he asked whats the music we're listening to, told him Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel, "wow, its really good,"he said, at the time the track playing was It Wasn't Me, next on the list was Back To The Farm, again he was massively impressed with the song, next was Sebastian, his reaction to that was, & I'm not exaggerating,totally gobsmacked,as anyone reading this would expect, as we approached his house, he asked me if I could recommend any LP's, basically I said any with Steve or Cockney Rebels name on, but said a good starting point would probably be The Human Menagerie, The Psychomodo, or a Greatest Hits compilation, he got out, and, happy that I'd introduced someone to the greatness of Mr. Harley's music, I drove of, thinking I'd probably never see the guy again, anyway, Wednesday just gone, I'm sat on the rank, twiddling my thumbs waiting for a customer, when who should tap on my window, but the self same convert, just stopped to "thank" me for introducing him to, in his words, "the greatest singer/group he's ever heard" and that he'd took my advice, got copies of THM, & TP, and several others as well, didn't state which ones, but there you go, its never too late for anybody to be introduced to truly GREAT music, and I've made it a regular in my car to have a playlist of my particular favourites of Steve/Cockney ready to play at anytime, you could say I'm on a 1 man crusade to educate the musical taste buds of the people in my little part of the world.